Questions and Answers on The Book of Inter-religious Peace in Word and Image for Smashwords

The Book of Inter-religious Peace in word and image by Dr Dorit Kedar

1.       Where did you grow up, and how did this influence your writing?

I grew up in The Middle East (Israel), Africa (Ethiopia and Eritrea), Europe (Spain) Switzerland) and accomplished my studies in The States. The multi-cultural was a must to survive.

2.       When did you first start writing?

As I was always the stranger, the different, the other – I have developed the habit to write in my personal and secret diary the daily obstacles and problems I had to deal with.

3.       What motivated you to become an indie author?

The multi-cultural and multi-religious background of my childhood and youth exposed me to the existent conflictive issues among people, thereafter I have started to continuously and thoroughly   study the idiosyncrasy as well as the common ground of the human belief systems.

4.       How has Smashwords contributed to your success?

Smashwords is a fabulous way and path to reach open minded people around the world, exposing them to a new outlook on culture and religion.

5.       What do your readers mean to you?

My potential readers are extremely meaningful as they could spread the word of tolerance and inter-religious understanding.

6.       What are you working on next?

My assistants are now working on translation and edition of my book Cab Story These stories are based on the unexpected, the fantasy, the temptations, the sorrow, the sexuality, the capital sins or non-sins of humanity.

7.       What inspires you to get out of bed each day? When you’re not writing, how do you spend your time?

Teach, learn, take care of my animals asylum for lost cats, walk my three dogs, clean the garden, plant, take my nephews to the theatre, dance companies, concerts… visit sick and agonizing people, have coffee with my friends…

8.       What is your writing process?

My writing process, similarly to my artwork, begins its life as an abstract idea and heart, there it grows, becomes till it is ready for birth.

9.       Do you remember the first story you ever read, and the impact it had on you?

I suppose it is The Little Prince  by Saint Exupery who wanders among the planets, meets bizarre people and animals, all lonely , and when wishing to return to his own planet and to the beloved rose he left behind, he realizes that only by dying , he probable the journey back home…

10.   What are your five favorite books, and why?

The five books are the following:

 The Bible – for its richness of the mythic elements, the variety of characters, prose and poetry, proverbs and drama.. .

Don Quijote de La Mancha by Cervantes – The complexity of human nature, the dreamers versus the materialists, idealism in opposition to the empirical, subjectivity and objectivity as impossible tools to touch Life.

The poetry of Rabindranath Tagore – for the very fine fusion between the beauty of the words and the wisdom of the ideas, poetry and philosophy.

The Mesopotamian Epic of Gilgamesh for the futility of Force and battle, the craving for the Unknown and the last lesson of humbleness.

Selected tales of Pu Songling – for the subtlety merging the real and the imagined, Mystery  and the routine, the tension between the style of the prose which prefers directness and the secrecy of symbolic object, people and events.

About Dr. Dorit Kedar

Forced to continuously change nations, cultures and schooling - I had to develop a wider sense of communication, a way of thinking-feeling-behaving which stresses the common denominators. The need to adapt new landscapes and land-souls has taught instinctive means to overcome separatism, prejudices, dogmatic beliefs and suspicions. While looking for the common gathering denominators, I have also increased the ability of perception and individuation. Being constantly in estranged places has triggered psychological processes to turn the unfamiliar into familiar. As an art critic in the Israeli press, a curator, a writer - have always dealt with the otherness, the different and the infinite variety of the Existent. My Book of Peace is the result.
This entry was posted in Interview and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.